Time-sharing Experiments for the Social Sciences (TESS) offers researchers the opportunity to capture the internal validity of experiments while also realizing the benefits of working with a large, diverse population of research participants.

Investigators submit proposals for experiments, and TESS fields successful proposals for free on a representative sample of adults in the United States using NORC's AmeriSpeak® Panel, a probability-based and highly-respected representative survey platform.

The current principal investigators of TESS are Maureen Craig (New York University), James Druckman (Northwestern University), and Jeremy Freese (Stanford University). The Managing Principal Investigator is Hannah Hamilton (University of Chicago). TESS was started by Arthur Lupia (University of Michigan) and Diana Mutz (University of Pennsylvania).

TESS is funded by the National Science Foundation (SES-2017581).


TESS Special Competition on Replications

TESS is excited to announce a Special Opportunity for researchers to propose survey experiments that replicate (and potentially extend) prior published work.

Please click here for more information.

The deadline to apply is September 15, 2023.

Announcing the Winners of the 2023 Lupia-Mutz Outstanding Publication Award

TESS is delighted to announce the winners of the 2023 Lupia-Mutz Award for Outstanding Publication Using TESS Data! The winners are:

Justin de Benedictis-Kessner and Michael Hankinson, for “How the Identity of Substance Users Shapes Public Opinion on Opioid Policy” (Political Behavior)

Sparsha Saha, for “Why don't politicians talk about meat? The political psychology of human-animal relations in elections” (Frontiers in Psychology)

Scott Clifford and Elizabeth N. Simas, for “Moral Rhetoric, Extreme Positions, and Perceptions of Candidate Sincerity” (Political Behavior)

TESS Partnership with JEPS

TESS is excited to announce a partnership with the Journal of Experimental Political Science (JEPS) to share reviews for applicants who submit their proposed TESS projects to JEPS as a pre-registered reports. Please visit the FAQ page for more information.